The Children’s Book

EmilyBooks

The Children's BookThere are many reasons why it took me such an age to finish A.S. Byatt’s The Children’s Book. The baby, the house move, the bits of work I’ve got on the go (incidentally here is the other piece of journalism I mentioned) … and one must take into account the book’s considerable size of over 600 pages.

But, truth be told, I’m afraid that it took so long because I didn’t especially enjoy it.

Usually I am all for giving up on a book that I’m not enjoying. Life’s too short and there are too many books to squander my precious reading hours on something for which, for whatever reason, I’m not in the mood. It’s not that I won’t ever get around to reading the book in question, more that the current moment might not be the right time to have a go. Perhaps this is never…

View original post 950 more words

Leave a Reply

